Scarecrows and Pumpkins and Mums, Oh My!

9 Oct

Confession: My favorite month is October, and I kind of act like a little kid about it. I love everything about it. I even like the word October. Sad? Maybe. Anyway, last week, I decked the house with all things fall, and got a little carried away with the pumpkins. (There may or may not be 4 outside and 5 inside.) I also put a scarecrow and some hay bales in our yard, and I’m still not used to that sucker. Every time I catch a glimpse of it out of the corner of my eye, I gasp.

New Television Obsession

7 Oct

Prior to losing the ‘ole j-o-b, I already had an unhealthy obsession with television (and more specifically reality television), and now it’s only gotten worse. I love anything reality, and will defend any show I watch, no matter how many people tell me it will turn my brain to mush.

Enter: The Rachel Zoe Project. Seriously, this show makes me less intelligent by the second – but I can’t stop watching it. If you don’t know who Rachel Zoe is, well, I have a problem with you right off the bat, but, she’s a (and some would argue the) stylist to the stars in Hollywood. She picks out their red carpet outfits, everyday outfits, etc. She’s pretty much like a designer closet that can talk. Anyhow, someone over there at Bravo gave her a television show, and I’m hooked.

Rachel Zoe is a ridiculous person who dresses ridiculously (most of the time), and says ridiculous things. Her favorite catch phrase seem to be, “I die” – like, “Oh my God, this vintage dress is incredible. I die.” Or, “She looks amazing. I die.” I kind of wish she would croak, so I could stop watching her be ridiculous.

Until then, I’ll be watching her on Tuesday nights…and secretly crushing on her gay assistant, Brad, and loving her other bitchy assistant, Taylor. I hate myself.

Desperate Housewife

1 Oct

While not nearly as glamorous as Gabrielle, as clumsy as Susan, as nifty in the kitchen as Bree, and certainly not managing a household of children a la Lynette…I, too, am now a Desperate Housewife.

Say it isn’t so, right? That is what I said when I work up today – and indeed it was. Yesterday I joined the ranks of Americans who are unemployed. Yep, I’m a statistic.

It happened around 4:30 when our office manager told me our boss wanted to see me in his office. I thought to myself, “Uh oh. Busted for getting on Facebook at work.” No, that wasn’t it. Instead, he had a serious look on his face and said, “This is not a comfortable conversation to have.” Damn.

By 4:45 I was no longer an employee there. By 6:00 I had packed up my things, cleaned out my desk, written a few goodbye emails, hugged the remaining employees (I wasn’t the only one sent packing), and walked to my car. I’m an emotional gal, so there were a few tears shed while saying goodbye to my work family – and a few more when I got home and saw my real family.

Today, though, I’m determined. This economy will not get me down! No sir. I will find a job, I will find a job, I will find a job. And in the meantime, I’ll be a housewife – not a closet is safe with me home all day. Heck, I might even try some new recipes. Take the doggie for three walks instead of two. Volunteer in my mom’s classroom. Watch Regis and Kelly. Oh, and look for a j-o-b, of course. Because homegirl likes to shop. And I married for love, like an idiot, so I’ll be sending out resumes like a mo-fo for sure.

Be thankful for your job, whatever it may be. And if you have any luck with the man upstairs – put in a good word for me, will ya? I’m gonna need it.

Remember this?

29 Sep

“If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”

-Thumper’s Mom

Cartoon rabbits truly are smarter than some people.  And, that’s all I have to say about that.

Fwd: Forwards are so 1998

25 Sep

You know what I’m talkin’ bout.  Inevitably, every day, a FWD pops into your inbox.  If this doesn’t happen to you, I want to be you.  If so, you have a mom, mother-in-law and a couple of friends like I do (God love ’em).


Do you ever wonder who started this, and more importantly – why they did?  Was there, at some point in time, really a burned baby named Jessica who needed money for hospital bills?  Did someone really sit down on a theater seat and get poked by a needed with a note that said, “You’ve been infected with HIV” and feel the need to warn the entire world?  And, the free stuff forwards…was this a cruel joke all along, or did people really get 150 dollars to spend at Outback Steakhouse, free IBM computers or a dollar for each person they passed the email along to from Bill Gates?

I’ve decided to rank the different types of forwards in order of annoyance:
  • The “ALL CAPS Subject Line” forward, i.e., YOU MUST READ THIS!!  I delete these immediately because I don’t like to be yelled at in real life, or while checking my email.
  • The “Watch What Happens” forward, where if you forward the email to 10 people, a dog/cat/bird/you’llfindoutwhenyousendthis will magically appear on your screen and do something cute.  Seriously.  This would not happen even if you sent it to 5 million people.  If you wish to see a cute animal, turn on your television and watch Animal Planet.
  • The “Drug Recall” forward.  These tell us there’s an ingredient in everything that is going to kill us, especially cold medicines.  The ingredient name is always something similar to aphilastuiomne.  Really people, crack heads smoke crack and continue breathing.  I think you’ll be ok taking a tablespoon of Robitussin.
  • The “Chain Letter” forward, where if you send this to 8 of your friends in the next 8 seconds, good luck will be with you all through the year.  Yawn.
  • The “Bad Things Will Happen” forward, which is a lot like the Chain Letter forward, only this one goes to great lengths to tell you what terrible tragedies have happened when people didn’t pass the forward along.  “My aunt’s best friend got this forward and instead of passing it along, went into the kitchen to cook dinner.  Five minutes later, she got a phone call saying her son was involved in a terrible accident.”  I saw an accident on my way to work this morning – do you think that person’s dad didn’t forward the forward?  That son of a b…
  •  The “Free Stuff” forward, explained above.  My favorite part of these is the alleged tracking system that is used to keep up with who sent who what.  That is just not possible, and moreover, why would Microsoft care who you sent an email to?
  • The “Danger” forward, otherwise known as “watch your back because everyone is out to get you while you are shopping for the holidays.”  This isn’t to say that there are not a whole bunch o’ crazies out there, but I’m not convinced they use the “smell this perfume” route to abduct you.  I’m pretty sure they just pull out a gun.  Unless of course they read your forward, and now they’ve found a genius scheme.  Way to go.  And thank you for signing the bottom of the email, Deputy So-and-So from BlahBlah, California, but I still don’t believe it happened.
  • The “If You Love Me” forward, usually accompanied by some type of friendship poem, which asks you not only to pass it along, but also to send it back to the person who sent it to you.  To all of my friends and family who read this (there are like two of you, I think):  I am showing that I love you/value your friendship by NOT sending you forwards.
  • The “Political” forward.  I received four of these today, and I’ve determined that Hillary (Clinton) is behind these.  She’s bitter about not making the ticket, so she’s decided to pester American voters into indifference.
Here’s a chance to do something for your fellow man:  The next time you see the Fwd in your subject line, just delete it.  Don’t read it, and get all sucked in to the forward hysteria.  Delete.  Choose not to read about which Barbie represents your college town, which candidate looks most like a giraffe, who Tommy Hilfiger really wants to wear his clothes or the Gas Out of ’08.  Delete.


You must pass this blog link along to 9 people in the next minute, or your fingers will turn to dust.

Ahem, more Shout Outs

24 Sep

It’s a girl!  Julie and Russell have kept themselves (and the rest of us) in suspense for 9 months, but they had a baby girl yesterday.  They named her Georgia, which I’m obviously a fan of.  She’s destined for greatness.


That guy I married has a birthday today.  Welcome to being as old as I am, dear. 

This is News?

24 Sep

You’ve got to be kidding me.  I’m fairly certain that even my dog knew that.

I Hate What You’re Wearing

22 Sep


The offender:  America Ferrera


The item(s) in question:  Dress and Hair, 2008 Emmy Awards

My thoughts:  It has always been my belief that we vertically challenged women should stick together.  Therefore, it is out of love and concern that I tell you this:  that dress makes you look frumpy, dumpy and about three inches tall.  First of all, I’m not sure who fitted you, but here’s a news flash – it doesn’t fit.  It’s too big, darling, and consequently looks like you went to Publix, grabbed a few Hefty bags, taped them together and hopped in a limo.  Secondly, the length.  Good Lord the length.  Here are your options from now on:  to the floor, gracing the top of the knee or, above the knee.  Calf length is not an option for any occasion, except maybe yoga, for people of our stature.  Lastly, the hair.  I know what you were going for, and while the Old Hollywood look is quite classy, yours turned out a bit frizzy.  I don’t love it.

The solution:  A to-the-floor fitted dress or above-the-knee loosely fitted dress, very tall heels, and sleek straight hair.

Karma

18 Sep

The following is an excerpt from a Google chat conversation with a friend of mine, whose identity I must protect so said friend isn’t “outed” for Google chatting during what may or may not have been work hours.


me:  so, you know how i live in freakin’ BFE
me:  well, i woke up today to no…..water.  the well is broken.
friend:  wtf?
me:  i know, right?
friend:  you live in a dark hole.
me:  who has well water anyway?  i guess i live in “little house on the prairie days” – just call me laura ingalls.
friend:  my grandparents still have well water.
me:  i mean, this is not me.  i do not belong in a town that has wells.  or livestock.
me:  a real live rooster crows at me in the morning.  he lives next door at our neighbors.  and by “next door” i mean across the field.
me:  you know why this has happened, right?
friend:  why?
me:  my rant about williams brice stadium.  that’s karma.

Is That Bad?

17 Sep

So, I’m not really sure how this got started, but a while back (um, like 7 years ago) my friends and I began saying “Is that bad?” after we made a questionable statement/insult/revelation.  Usually the answer is “yes” – but just for kicks, we ask it anyway.


Ergo, I give you my “Is that bad?” list (for today, anyway):

Sometimes, to our perfectly nice and friendly UPS delivery man, I pretend to be on the phone so he doesn’t walk to my desk and strike up a conversation.  ITB?

On my way to work this morning, I had road rage rant against a man in a truck that had “Smile, God Loves You” painted on the tailgate.  ITB?

I do not think all babies are cute.  ITB?

I would rather watch The Hills than the evening news.  ITB?

I’m interested in going to another country to help little children, but I really don’t want to use my vacation days to do so.  ITB?

While sitting in a doctor’s office, I always try to guess what the other people in the waiting room “have.”  ITB?

Occasionally, when I’m out shopping and see someone I know, I avoid them so I don’t have to chat.  ITB?